Readings

It has been awhile since I have read any fiction.  This is, of course, all my fault as I have been reading technical manuals and insurance related books almost exclusively now for the past year or two (ah, how I love the SSIS and SQL books).  I did read the first few books in the Harry Potter series at my wife’s request, but even that was about 4 or 5 months ago. 

I decided to try to force myself to fix this issue, and, have created a plan to do so by joining up with a book club (The Sword and The Laser).  You know, if I have some reason to keep up with fiction reading it might help me to remember how much I really enjoy it.  Right now I am reading the Neuromancer, by William Gibson.  I am about three quarters of the way through it and I’m still not sure how I like it.  It has definitely been interesting to see how close the author was on some aspects of his vision for the future, and how off he was on others.

I have also been trying to consume books via audio, through Librivox , and that has seemed to help some.  I have listened to some of the Edgar Rice Borroughs books (the first three barsoom books and the first tarzan book) as well as some random short stories (particularly any of the H.P. Lovecraft that was available) and a few of the more classic literature tales (a tale of two cities, this side of paradise, the secret garden).

Consuming books through audio is nice, especially on car rides down to visit the relatives, but I’d have to say I enjoy reading the physical copies more.   Anyway, I’ll try to post more in the future. 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

