Readings, Vista and More

Well, I have to say that I am once again behind on things that I would like to do.  I think I should probably blame guild wars.  Maybe just life in general. 

I was able to finish up the neuromancer fairly soon after the last post.  I ended up liking the end of the book a whole lot more than the beginning.  The only downside to this is that I had thought that the sword and laser book club was going to be a one book a month type club.  Apparently it is a little less speedy than that, as they are just now getting to towards the end of the book.  There is some decent discussion going on at the forums, but, once again, not quite as much as I had assumed there would be.  Perhaps people are waiting until they finish the book to comment?

Well, I had thought that maybe this club would get me to start to read more fiction, and I am sure that it will.  But right now I am in almost exactly the same place I was before.  It just seems like I have no time for it really.  Right now I am posting this instead of reading some more of a text for an insurance class that I am supposed to take a test for in a few weeks (AIT 134).  And after that I would love to finish up the T-SQL Querying book that I am about 2/3rds of the way finished with.  Then it will be on to either the T-SQL Programming book or the Data Warehouse Lifecycle (2nd ed) or ETL Toolkit.

I did get a chance to finally read through Donald Farmers "Extending SSIS with Scripts" book the other week.  I thought it was one of the easiest tech books to get through that I have read in a long time.  Although, I must admit, that right now SSIS is something that I am very much into, so that might be a huge part of why it was an easy read.

Finally, I got some new hard ware over valentine’s day… an HP with AMD TL-60, 2GB RAM, 250 GB Hard disk.  The only thing is, it came with VISTA.  Oh, the horror!  Well, actually not.  After everything I have read about how terrible this operating system is, I am actually quite pleased with it.  Maybe it is my willingness to try something new though…. Hey, I liked Office 2007 and its’ ribbons as well.

I know that no one really reads this, but, if there is anyone out there, I will be attending VSLive! Orlando in May and will more than likely be looking for others to talk to so as to not be completely bored all week.  Hey, I live in Florida so the prospect of being in Orlando is only mildly amusing….

Well, maybe I’ll get a chance to get through this class and onwards towards more enjoyable reading soon.  And perhaps I’ll finally start to post some actual tech related entries.  Maybe a few tutorials…

This entry was posted in General Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

