SQL Saturday and Data Quality the Accuracy Dimension

I am not 100% certain, but the plan for now is to go to the mini-conference SQL Saturday on 7 June 2008.  Here there are going to be two tracks of courses for those of us lucky enough to be using the SQL Server toolset.  The best news about this conference is free and anyone can sign up.  It will be held in the Orange County Conference Center (This year’s site of TechEd) along with a large number of other ‘tween events (given the name as it is in between the first and second weeks of TechEd).  In any case, drop me a line if anyone plans on making it and perhaps we can catch lunch together.

On another note, I finished up Data Quality the Accuracy Dimension about a week and a half ago.  This ended up being a pretty good read, although, once again, I am not sure how much of it I will be able to use.  I like the idea of fully profiling your databases to discover the complete picture on what each element stands for as well as discovering the simple and complex relationships between columns.  As my current company does not utilize a full feature profiling tool I have been left in the dark about most of this.  I am, however, still trying to determine the best course of action for our meta data repository, our scoring systems and our error logs and I believe that having this reference should help a good deal.  At the moment, although I know that I need to start reading through some more tech books, I have decided to finish at least two novels before trying to finish up the SQL Querying book.  So, more on that later….

This entry was posted in SQL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

