New Beginnings and Still Life with Woodpecker

So, the past few weeks have been pretty hectic.  I have been working frantically to get through the task list for the house to get it ready to sell.  As of yet we have painted almost the whole interior of the house, installed a new closet door, had the carpets redone, worked on getting the yard back to some semblance of tame, begun boxing up and de-cluttering, etc.  I’m fairly proud of the amount we have accomplished thus far.  I can’t thank my family enough for the help which they have provided.  Also, a big thank you to my wife’s friends who helped as well. (Where were my friends during this you might ask? I don’t know…)

Aside from this, I have now made my way up to Tallahassee to start my new job.  I believe that I will fit in here much better than I did at my previous stop.  The only negative so far is that they had not seen fit to get my workstation loaded with the proper software for me to work with.  But, this has not really been a big deal as of yet as I have been going over some documentation anyway.  I feel like I should be able to help out in some of the architecture design choices as well as providing a bit of a some advice on the ETL design standards as well.

I am currently staying with a friend, who, oddly enough is working at the same company but in a different department.  We’ve known each other for about 3 or 4 years now, although, he was only in Gainesville for a little over one of those.  He is trying to get me hooked on Team Fortress 2…. I’ll see how long I can resist the first person shooter temptation.  Right now I am on a huge Rock Band kick.  I have also been playing a lot of XPlorers (Read: Settlers of Catan).  I can’t say that I have been doing well, which is kind of funny since the first 20 or 30 games I played I WAS doing good… No longer though.  This is a good game to keep my dad, my brother and me in touch as it was a game that we used to play pretty regularly when we all lived in close proximity to each other during college.  \

All of these video games make me think about how I should occasionally be reading.  As I knew that I would soon be moving, and I also knew that I would probably have some extra time on my hands, I decided to get through the novel I was currently on – Still Life with Woodpecker by Tom Robbins. 

Still Life with Woodpecker is a book was about redheads, and, how to make love stay.  It was about outlaws, princesses and pyramids.  It was a book about perceptions, commitments and ideals.  There was sex, drugs, gambling, explosions and aliens. 

This was the third Robbins novel that I have read, and I would have to say that I still enjoy Jitterbug Perfume the most.  Perhaps it is because he has the same style of humor throughout (and it is pretty funny) but that it was REALLY novel the first time I ran into it.  I don’t know.  I am not certain which novel I care for more, Still Life with Woodpecker or Another Roadside Attraction.  I would have to say it is probably Another Roadside Attraction, which would make this my least favorite of the Tom Robbins books.  Still, that is not to say that the novel is bad.

Anywho, onwards to the next novel – The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson – before finally finishing up that SQL Querying book that has been on my shelf for a few years now…

This entry was posted in General Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

