The Diamond Age

So, onwards to another pseudo book review.  I just finished the diamond age by neal stephenson and it is taking a little bit to come to grips with it.  This is the second stephenson novel that I have read and I would have to say that once again I really liked it.  The writing style is easy to get through.  He has a really good voice at presenting a vision of the future (or at least, a future).  This time, the future is a bit further off than that in snow crash.  The book intermingles stories told to (and interacted with) a small girl, social unrest in a time of nano-technology, and hallucinatory bio-technology computer orgies.  There are bits of morals, individuality, and subversive behavior liberally sprinkled about.  The questions of what it takes to be a parent, to be loved and to be accepted all have there place here.

The only problem I have with this novel is the same that I had with the last.  The ending is very abrupt.  It really feels like there is more of a story to tell.  Still, however, I would highly recommend this to anyone I saw picking it up in the bookstore.  As for me, I will venture on to some other authors but fully intend to continue reading Stephenson’s other novels…

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Diamond Age

  1. Scott says:

    If you like Neil\’s writing, and you have not read Cryptonomicon yet, you owe it to yourself to read it – *soon*.One of the best reads ever for me.s

  2. Eric says:

    It is on my list.  I will probably try to read it after I get through with Perdido Street Station…

Leave a Reply

