PASS Community Summit 2008 and other news

So, I don’t know whether this should be listed as SQL or Travel, but I just found out that I will be attending the PASS Community Summit 2008 (http://summit2008.sqlpass.org/) from November 17 – 21.  From the list of speakers I am pretty excited to see the names of some of my fellow users of the MSDN SQL Forums as presenters and look forward to sitting in on some of their sessions.  I have also signed up for the pre-conferece by Itzik Ben-Gan, the author of the T-SQL Querying and T-SQL Programming books that I have enjoyed reading as well as the pre-conference by Erik Veerman.  Having never been to a PASS conference I am a bit confused as to the format of their seminars as they have no real information about this type of thing up on their site at this point.  I would think, but am not positive that they are in the 1 hour range.  I suppose I’ll be able to tell everyone all about it after my trip. 

It has been a while since I have been in the northwest.  The last time I made it up that way was in late 2001 / early 2002 to visit my family.  Luckily enough, I will be able to extend my stay after the conference and roam about the region.  Hopefully my wife will be able to join me for the week after the conference and we can explore the area a bit and get a chance to visit with my relatives.  I look forward to thanksgiving with that side of the family….

Also, I am pretty happy with the way that it looks like the SQL Saturdays #8 is panning out.  Still no word on whether or not I will be speaking, but either way I plan on attending and having fun possibly meeting up with others for the event.  If anyone reading this plans to be at either the SQL Saturdays #8 in Orlando on October 25 or at the PASS conference drop me a line and we can possibly meet up for lunch or dinner.

This entry was posted in SQL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

