Another SQL Saturday Post

OK, ok… so I have no defense about not posting in the past month or so.  Well, I have a few excuses, but they are the normal ones you hear from everyone, i.e. I have been working on a big project and haven’t had much personal time outside of work, etc.

For those of you who attended my SSIS – A beginning framework presentation, I will get the sample packages and framework out as soon as I can… I know that it has been over a month, but it will happen.  Hopefully sometime soon as my project will be wrapping up in the next few weeks (although there is another major one right behind it. As usual).

Onwards to the reason for the post.

SQL Saturday #12 will be in Pensecola Florida on June 6, 2009.  I will be volunteering at the check in desk in the morning and doing a presentation on SSIS Configurations, Expressions and Constraints at 4:00 cdt.  This will be the third time I have given this presentation and I hope that it will be useful to everyone. 

As for myself, I plan on catching the following:

DBA 101: Best Practices Every DBA Should Know (Brad McGehee)

I’m going to this one because I’m not actually a DBA and might pick something up.  The other option is the Apply Here by my friend Kent Waldrop.

Unconventional ETL using SSIS Scripting (Tim Mitchell)

Going to this one as I love all things SSIS.  We’ll see what Mr. Mitchell has to offer 🙂

The Modern Resume: Building Your Brand (Steve Jones)

I’ve heard about this presentation by Mr. Jones in the past and it sounds interesting.

What is PASS? (Andy Warren)

I don’t know if I should go to this presentation or the Wait-Time Analysis, but I find myself often going to presentations by speakers I know and like.  This is one of those cases.

* It’s All About The Tools – TV Show Episode 3 (If I "Win" the lottery to get in to the session)

OR

Creating dasboard applications with SSRS and .NET (Shawn McGehee)

As always, I like to try to take at least one session on SSRS or SSAS at these events to keep reminding myself that I need to learn more about them.

Getting the Most Out of the SQL Server Profiler (Brad McGehee)

Not sure if I will go to this one or the Near Real Time DW.  I think that this will probably be more useful for me at this point though.  I know how to use the SQL Server Profiler in a limited capacity, but I know that I should probably look in to it a bit more in depth to see what else I can use the tool for.

SSIS Configurations, Expressions and Constraints

I guess I have to show up to my own presentation huh?  If not I would be going to the MDX session.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

