Certification Part Two

I’ve just finished a few novels (I read The Reader, An Empire Unacquainted With Defeat, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep and Free Live Free) after taking the last certification, which was what I told myself I would do before starting on the next.  Then came the hard part.  I’ve stared at a stack of books sitting on my desk trying to determine what would be the best course of action for some time now.  I have the certification prep kits for both the Implementation and Maintenance as well as the BI tests.  I also have The Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services by Brian Larson, The Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Analysis Services 2008 by Gorbach et al (which I am about 1/3 of the way through) and the Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Integration Services by Knight et al just sitting and staring at me.  So, what it boiled down to was essentially this:  I could take the Implementation and Maintenance by reading just the prep kit and doing a lot of studying, I could take the BI Test by just reading the prep kit and doing a lot of studying… if I need a lot more help I could fall back on the individual books, I could read each of the BI stack books individually followed by the prep kit, or I could ignore all of my books and start studying for the MCITP for database development.

In the end I decided to go ahead and read the B.I. prep kit and see if it will contain enough information for me to get by.  I figure, if I need to I will put it down and examine the portions of the Analysis Services and / or Reporting Services books.  There are thirteen chapters – Four on SSIS, Five on SSAS, and Four on SSRS.  I’ll try to read at least five a week, so between that and about a four or five days for review I think I’ll aim for the first or second week of September.  If I need to fall back onto the individual books it will probably be more like early to mid October…

In any case, I hope to get all three of the MCTS SQL Certifications by the end of the year.  I think that as a reasonable goal, next year I will try to get the MCITPs for at least the Database Development and BI tracks; perhaps all three. 

This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

