Microsoft SQL Server 2008 – Business Intelligence Development and Maintenance Self Paced Training Kit and Certification Plans

I have just finished the training kit and will be spending the next week and a half or so going through the practice tests, reviewing the books on-line pages, going through the references in the back of the certification book etc.  All of this is, of course, in relation to the 70-448 certification test which I have just signed up to take on 1 September 2009.

Overall, it seemed like the book was good on the theory.  Furthermore, the examples given seemed to be relatively in-depth, although certainly not enough to give one the skills to be an expert on any of the subjects.  The exercises were mostly repeats of what the examples were although with small twists.  For me, that was ok as they kind of brought home what I was doing with more impact since I was essentially reading the same information multiple times; hopefully enough to make it stick.  It seemed like the SSIS and SSAS sections were edited and proof-read quite a bit better than the SSRS section.  I guess I’ll see whether or not the prep kit has been comprehensive enough for me to learn the material shortly.

This entry was posted in SQL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Microsoft SQL Server 2008 – Business Intelligence Development and Maintenance Self Paced Training Kit and Certification Plans

  1. Unknown says:

    Best of luck on the test today, Eric.Kent

  2. Eric says:

    Thanks Kent. I ended up doing fine! Now the only MCTS left is the administration and maintenance. I don\’t know if I\’ll meet my goal and get it done by the end of the year or not, but it shouldn\’t be too much longer before I try.

Leave a Reply

