Ramblings

MCTS Certification

In an effort to hit some of my goals for 2010 I have been studying for the MCTS SQL 2008 Implementation and Maintenance certification.  I took the plunge and have set up the exam for Thursday…. Here’s hoping I’m ready.

PASS DVDS

I received my set of PASS Summit 2009 Dvds in the mail yesterday.  I am psyched about spending way too much time geeking out watching the great stuff I missed at the conference.  So many great sessions to choose from, now I have them all!  My only complaint is that I really wish they had put the pre and post con seminars on the dvds as well.  Of course, I can understand why they wouldn’t as I know that at least a few of the speakers do the same or similar talks multiple times a year for big money 🙂

Excuses

After a few things clear out at the office and with the certification I’ll be able to get back into writing for the fake business problem I have been working through.  Hopefully I’ll have more time for random demos and rambling posts as well. 

Books

Finally, I’ve been staring at a number of books which I have picked up recently.  I’m debating between reading the following:

  • SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Grant Fritchey, Sajal Dam)
  • SQL Server 2008 Internals (Delaney et al.)
  • SQL Server 2008 Integration Services Problem Design Solution (Veerman et al.)
  • Inside SQL Server 2008 T-SQL Querying (Ben Gan) {Probably just a skim as I read the 2005 from cover to cover}
  • Data Modeling Essentials 3rd ed. (Simsion, Witt)
  • Data Modeling Theory and Practice (Simsion)

And a few that I am part way through:

  • Mastering SQL Profiler (McGahee)
  • Microsoft SQL 2008 Reporting Service (Larson)

Does anyone who reads along have any suggestions from the list above? (I know there aren’t many of you 😛 )

This entry was posted in General Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

