MCTS 2008 Implementation and Maintenance

As of a little bit earlier today, I’m one step closer to completing my goals for 2010.  I took the MCTS SQL Server 2008 Implementation and Maintenance certification and passed.  To me, this certification was a bit more difficult as I do not have much responsibility for the areas that are covered on the test at work.  I’m not a general purpose DBA by trade… I’m a B.I. guy.  However, I’d like to know that if necessary, I could branch out in that direction.  After having taken this certification I feel confident that I could. 

Studying for this test definitely introduced me to a lot of concepts which I had been unfamiliar (I’m looking at you High Availability and Encryption Hierarchy).  There was a lot to learn and a lot to brush up on.  However, I think that all in all the test was a good experience.  It is something I would definitely recommend if you are looking to determine what areas of SQL Server you should be familiar.

Now I’ll take a month or two off from studying before deciding which of the MCITP tests I’ll shot for next.  I’m fairly certain that it will be the Database Developer test.  But, for now, I’m going to enjoy getting my evenings back for some mindless video games, movies and TV. 

This entry was posted in SQL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

