Bad Blogger and SQL Saturdays

OK, so I guess I’m not very good at blogging… I often forget to post anything for long stretches at a time.  About the only thing that I can say is that I will attempt to do better in the future, time permitting.

In other news, I will be doing presentations for two SQL Saturdays in the coming months.  For those of you who haven’t heard, SQL Saturday is a brand (recently folded into the PASS organization) that offers FREE conferences for SQL Server professionals.  These are absolutely great events… and the price is right!

The first event I will be speaking at is SQL Saturday #38 in Jacksonville FL on May 8, 2010.  My first presentation for this event, which I have done a number of times, is – SSIS Configurations, Expressions and Precedence Constraints.  I will try to clean up the slides for it a little bit to cut down on the clutter.  I will also try to ensure that I have working demos up before the presentation that will go along with what I am going to be talking about.

The second presentation which I will be giving is new to me – An Introduction To Execution Plans.  This is meant to be a low level look at what execution plans are, how they can help you, where you can find them, etc.  I will begin putting this presentation together in the next few weeks…

Aside from my presentations I will plan on attending: Common SQL Programming Mistakes (Plamen Ratchev), Policy Based Management Administration Made Easy (Jorge Segarra), CDC + SSIS = SCD (Patrick LeBlanc), Powershell for the Data Professional (Aaron Nelson).

I will also be doing a presentation for SQL Saturday #22 in Pensacola, FL on June 5, 2010.  This will be another new presentation for me – SSIS 2008 – Profiling Your Data.  This will be an in depth look at the new data profiling task and the corresponding data profiling viewer.  To me this is a good way to start to investigate your data and begin to place an emphasis on data quality as a part of data integration, or at least as a part of regularly scheduled maintenance.

Aside from my presentations here I plan on attending: DBA Repository Update 2010 Using SSIS and SSRS (Rodney Landrum), Loops Lookups and Splits (Tim Mitchell), A Powershell Cookbook for DBAs (Trevor Barkhouse), Introduction to Transactional Replication (Troy Gallant) and Common T-SQL Programming Mistakes (Kevin Boles) (Not sure here what I want to go to… I think Kevin is an excellent presenter, so this is probably where I’ll end up at).

Hope to see you at these great events.

This entry was posted in SQL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

