MCITP Database Developer – Beginning

In an effort to boost the technical content of this space, and to help ensure that I am sticking on target for studying for the 70-451 exam that leads to the MCITP Database Developer 2008 certification, I plan on posting something on each of the topics listed under the Skills Being Measured section of the test description. 

I would be curious to see how many of the people who take this exam actually fit the audience profile.  I don’t know if I do or not, but I think it would be pretty close.  Except for the fact that I generally don’t work on more than a handful of servers that relate to the data warehouse.  I do, however, have experience with writing queries, programming the database, troubleshooting, performance tuning, conceptual and logical design, and gathering business requirements.  I don’t do as much with implementing the physical layer of the databases in as much as we have a separate team of DBAs who are supposed to do that.  I must say, that I still get involved from time to time.  And we don’t do much with data access layers… oh well.

I think that I probably could have, and maybe should have, taken this test shortly after taking the 70-433 last year to get the MCTS Database Development certification.  That particular test was big on syntax of each of the underlying skills, most of which I don’t use on a regular basis and have probably forgotten.  From what I have read from others, like Brent O’s post, the MCITP appears to have been written in a similar vein.  Oh well, water under the bridge right?  At the time I wanted to make sure that I got all of the SQL Server MCTS certifications.

In any case, I hope that the next several posts are helpful to someone. 

As a side note, I am attempting to use One Note 2010 to organize my notes, thoughts and ramblings on this, so in effect I am also testing out the usefulness of that application in regards to studying and coursework.  Currently I only really use One Note for keeping track of miscellaneous personal stuff, like notes from my various role-playing game campaigns.

This entry was posted in SQL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MCITP Database Developer – Beginning

  1. Peter Tran says:

    Thanks Eric! This is a gold mine of stuff for me as I embark on the same journey. I’ll also blog about my study plan and experience. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: MCITP 70-451 Links Page | Destination: Change

Leave a Reply

