SQL Burnout, SQL Saturday, Books, PASS Summit

Over the past few months I have felt a little burnt out on SQL extra circular activities.  I am going to go out on a limb and blame the new computer that I built… So, instead of being a good student and studying for my certification I have been playing video games.  Well, I still plan on playing video games, but I will also plan on getting back to the books. 

I guess that I did pick up an SQL book for the first time in a little while the other day (what can I say, I felt like reading instead of studying) – The SQL Server Tackle box by Rodney Landrum.  So far it is an easy read and entertaining.  I’m half way through and was able to do so in only a few hours.  I’ve also been spending a little more time back on the SSIS Forums and on twitter monitoring #sqlhelp and #ssis. 

Over the next few weeks I am going to have to start buckling down to prepare my “Data Flow Buffer Breakdown” presentation.  I will probably also have another chapter for the book for which I am dong a technical review.  As such, it will probably be a bit after that before I get back to my study posts for the 70-451 exam.

Finally, I got word that I’ll be going to the PASS Summit again this year.  I’m very excited about this trip and look forward to seeing everyone there!  If you plan to be in Seattle between 7 Nov 2010 and 13 Nov 2010 let me know and we can try to catch up.

If you haven’t checked out the line up for SQL Saturday #49 in Orlando for October 16, 2010 you really need to.  There are so many great speakers and sessions this year that I can’t imagine how it would get any better.  As is, I don’t know that I’ll be able to leave the SSIS track.  I have yet to see either Jose or Rafael speak, and John is a great presenter.  I’ll also have two sessions in the track.  The only session I might skip out on would be Patrick’s, and that’s only because I have attended the session in the past.  Instead, I’ll probably attend the ETL with Powershell session. 

Here are the abstracts for the presentations I’ll be giving:

Data Flow Buffer Breakdown:  An advanced session which will attempt to break down areas of the data flow buffer. In examining how the buffers are built and used, the user will begin to understand if, how and why package performance will be impacted when new transformations or columns are added. The session will further take a look at the effects of parallel package and parallel task execution.

SSIS Configurations, Expressions and Constraints: This session will look in depth at some of the more powerful aspects of Integrations Services: Expressions, Package Configurations, and Precedence Constraints. A short tutorial will show the users how to build up a package structure to allow logging to a remote location determined through configurations as well as capturing errors, destroying the error file if no errors are present and emailing a configurable user if any errors are found.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SQL Burnout, SQL Saturday, Books, PASS Summit

  1. Unknown says:

    I am sorry to hear this, Eric. But most of all, I am sorry that I reached that "burnout" first. After being "dropped out" for a year I feel like my focus is better. Time will tell whether or not about the SQL focus. I hope to see you soon.Kent Waldrop

Leave a Reply

