SQL Saturday #77 Pensacola FL

Just a friendly reminder that SQL Saturday #77 will be 4 June 2011 in Pensacola, FL.  I’m really looking forward to this event as each of the years I’ve made it to Pensacola I’ve had a blast.  If you do make it down, don’t miss the after party.  Last year we had a lot of fun with the dueling pianos and such.

I’ll be presenting the following new session.  I’m having fun with this one with lots of playful elements of horror thrown in to try to describe the terrible things that people can do to make the execution plans behave badly.


Performance Tuning with Execution Plans

In this session we will look at examining execution plans as a method for performance tuning. With the execution plan we can see the exact type of operation performed, and, more than that, we can look at the differences in what the optimizer thought the query would cost vs what it actually cost to perform the query. By examining the plans we have a road map for determining what type of improvements we should be striving for in order to make the particular statement more optimal.


In addition to my session, I’ll be heckling Julie Smith (Datachix) in here Up and Running with SSIS in 5, 4, 3, 2, (Datachix) 1 ! session.  Then I’ll be dropping by my good friend Shawn McGehee’s Session on Building SMO Apps for the Non-Programmer DBA.  Next, I’ll hit Ted Krueger’s Session on SSIS: The DBA Multiplier.  After lunch, I’ll have a very hard choice to make as I want to go to Rodney’s session on T-SQL Alphabet Soup, William Assaf’s SQL Server DMV Overview, Thomas LeBlanc’s Transition from DBA to BI Architect and Steve Jones’ Preparation for Disaster.  I have no clue which one I’ll end up at.  In the 3:00 hour I will probably end up in Aaron Nelson’s Quickly Gather Performance Data with Powershell session.  And finally, at the end of the day, I’ll be putting on my session.  Sounds like an action packed and fun filled day. 

Drop me a line if you’ll be there and want to meet up!

This entry was posted in SQL, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

