A look back at 2012 and a short look forward

2012 was a great year for more reasons than I can possibly list.  It was not, however, a great year for blogging or following through with my goals for the year.

Some highlights:

  • Had another great year with my Wife
  • Took a vacation to the mountains for our anniversary
  • Bought a house
  • Got a new job (helps with long term financial goals)
  • Paid off my student loans
  • Paid off my new-ish car (which we bought late 2010)
  • Read or listened to 53 books
    • 8 Technical, or pseudo-technical books
    • 2 professional development books
    • 28 novels
    • 3 audio books
    • 2 novellas
    • 9 graphic novels
    • 1 children’s book (actually more I think, but I didn’t record them all)
  • Went and Spoke at 3 SQL Saturdays (Jacksonville, Pensacola, Orlando)
  • Made it to the 9 Jacksonville SQL Server Group meetings
  • Hiked / Walked about 300 miles, ran about 120 miles
  • Had a family outing to a Buccaneers and Chiefs game.
  • Somewhat regularly had game nights either at our place or friends place for board games and general shenanigans
  • Reconnected with several older friends while playing video games (diablo 3 and guild wars 2 have been my free time’s downfall this year)
  • I got to see my sister, who had been living in Brazil for the past year + and in Scotland for several years before that.
  • …. and we’re having a baby boy who is due in March / April 2013! 🙂

Like I said, a really great year.  I was at first disappointed when I saw that I was missing goals as the year went by.  I’d think I could catch up with them but knew that it probably wasn’t feasible.  But, as the year closed, I began to think about goals a little differently again.

I think that it is perhaps more important for me to set and reach shorter term goals.  One month at a time, re-evaluate each month.  I’m trying to set tasks for each week to help get to the monthly goals.  And, I am making sure that the goals I am setting fit in to long term goals that I have; that I’m not doing too much that doesn’t fit in to those goals. (Note that these goals need to include things like spending time with friends and family and having fun)

In either case, I’m not determining 2013 goals.  I have goals for January, but they are, for the most part, non-technical in nature.  About the only things that ARE technical in nature that I have for January is to read the Expert Performance Indexing book by Jason Strate and Ted Krueger and to take the 70-461: Querying SQL Server certification (posts upcoming).

I have no clue what this year will bring, but I know that it will include a lot of changes.  I know I’ll have less free time, but in the past I’ve actually found that it has helped me to focus on the important things.  Most of all, I can’t wait to meet my son and begin to have experience all of the things that come with being a part of a growing family.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

